Feeling Wired

This week we started a new project in my 3D art class. It’s a “skin and skeleton project.” The idea is that you create a wire skeleton for a sculpture over which you lay a paper or cloth skin. The concept is similar to that of the Chinese lantern on yon left. Some examples we were given are on yon right

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
I grabbed my trusted sketchbook and began scribbling out different designs. I tend to take a more literal approach with my projects, like, I like them to look like something. I lean toward making recognizable things, even if it is a little abstract in nature. (I’ll post some of my previous projects soon just to show you what I mean.) But my instructor suggested that I opt for something a little less representational to avoid frustrating myself. I really like for things to look right. (I may or may not have a perfectionist complex.) Annyyywaaay…..I had a really cool design for a dragonfly, but decided to save him for another day. I came up with a sort of seaweedy and bubbly design. It’s feeling pretty lose and open for adaptation right now, so I’m kind of in a love hate relationship with not having a set-in-stone design to follow.

I’m using several different gauges of wire to construct the skeletal parts of my sculpture [Yay wire cutters and grease! (no, really, YAY!)] WP_20141103_13_15_20_ProI want it to have a flowing, less uniform, feel…it’s funny how much planning I’m having to do to make it look unplanned… I have the seaweedish skeletal part almost done. “Seaweedish”, not to be confused with “Swedish”, which is how my computer would like to correct the spelling of that word. One of my class mates told me it looked like a banana shapedWP_20141103_14_20_23_Pro banana holder, which was pretty much true, but I’ve added the curves now and it has take on a more organic, less bananic, feel… WP_20141103_13_43_43_ProI think.

Now I’m working on creating little spheres to make my bubbles. I spent about two hours trying to craft the “perfect sphere” but, alas, to no avail. It just wasn’t working for me yet.

So, that’s about where I’m at with this one…it’s gonna be interesting to see how this ends up…

Thoughts?

