Progress Update

Well, I’ve been continuing to work on my wire sculpture. The best word to describe my progress would be “slow”. I’ve spent three class periods (a total of 7 hours!) trying to perfect the little wire spheres that I plan to attach to the larger structure. Yes, I know, it’s excessive, ridiculous, and obsessive… believe me, I know. But if I’m going to loose three years of my life finishing a bachelors degree, then, by golly, I’m going to have something to show for it! And if 7 hours is what it takes to build the better sphere, then that’s just what it will have to take! Here they are (in progress.)WP_20141110_13_37_34_Pro

No, there’s no need for you to don’t point out the fact that it’s lopsided, uneven, poorly balanced, and structurally unsound. Give me this moment of denial in which I choose to say, “it is just dandy.” Alright, so the one on the right was my first semi success. He needs a name. Let’s name him…Bob. Yes, he feels like a Bob to me. I have no shame in admitting that Bob was preceded by several others which had the misfortune of finding their way to the recycling pile where their remains shall find new purpose, I have no doubt. I’m planning to put electric tea lights in the spheres, so I added a hinging mechanism for opening and closing them.

Now all that’s left is to cover the wire skeletons with a skin. The suggested method was to wrap the skeleton in a layer or two of tissue paper strips held on with a mix of glue and water, much like paper mache. Fabric was also an option, but most people found that it wouldn’t secure tightly enough. I wasn’t a big fan of either of those, and then I had this thought to use sheets from wallpaper books. The idea was kind of off-the-wall (I’m only one laughing at my pun, aren’t I? Yeah, ok…it was lame)  but once I have these random ideas, I have to test them to the point of failure just to seeeeeeee if they will work. There is a fine line between an idea of magnificence  and an idea of maleficence. And boy, when I cross it, I know… But, hey! This is college; it’s all about testing the waters right? Taking chances, making mistakes, getting messy! All the while, hopefully, getting better.

So, there it is, that’s my great and brilliant plan! (she said enthusiastically, all the while feeling in that deep crevasse of her subconscious mind that three days before the project is due is likely no time to be experimenting with new ideas…)

Thoughts?

