For Today

Looks like this weekend is going to be one of design and development. I have two new projects assigned for finals, both of which should be fun! (Not gonna lie, art classes are the best things ever!) I’ll get some more info up here as I get a little farther into them.

But for now, here’s a little more about me. (This is a blog, I can talk about whatever I want, even if it is egocentric.)

I got my Associate degree a couple of years ago, all general education courses. I had one drawing class and a semester with film courses, but other than that, it was biology, algebra, writing and the like. I do like writing, but I’m creative writing oriented rather than research papery. I finished that Associate degree and kissed college goodbye (by which I mean I ran in terror from the thought of another two years of my life sucked away by the all-consuming institution.) But, eventually, long story short, I decided to start on a Bachelors degree in art (gulp). On my first day of classes it was all “let’s review the syllabus and leave class early.” OK, great. On the second day, I got to draw for 2 hours, in class. 2 hours. In class. Nobody called me out for doodling, nobody told me to “put that away and pay attention”. I got to draw, for 2 hours, in class. Too good to be true? Probably, but I must be too dense to realize it, because I’m digging this stuff. If I had known this is what came after all those gen-ed courses, I might not have waited so long to come back!

So here I am, making stuff. The stuff itself isn’t the most important thing to me. What is important is learning the skills that I can take someplace else. I want to be an artist for film: conceptual design, creature and character creation, prosthetics, animatronics, anything and everything really. I want to do it all! Or at least have a basic skill set I can apply to whatever line of work I find. It’s not so much about having a job. I’ll need one, yes, and I’m not oblivious to the fact that I can’t live in my parent’s basement forever…not that I do or anything… But I’m not willing to let the illusion of a steady career dictate my life choices. I don’t care about being well paid or famous (which is apparently a good thing according to every artist I’ve ever talked to.) I just want to make things. Things that do things…Yeah, reality may it home at some point, ’cause I know my outlook is ridiculous…Oh well! I’d rather be homeless than locked into “career” for the sake of money…I say, right now, typing away from my parent’s basement…

I’m such a dreamer…

Here’s a picture of a baby sloth to get you through the weekend!

Thoughts?

